Museum and Art Gallery

Opening hours:

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday-Saturday 10am - 5pm
  • Sunday 12pm - 4pm

Find us at:

The Strand, Derby DE1 1BS
01332 641901
Plan your visitto Museum and Art Gallery
The Silk Mill

Opening hours:

  • Monday-Sunday Closed

Find us at:

Silk Mill Lane, Derby DE1 3AF
01332 641901
Plan your visitto The Silk Mill
Pickford's House

Opening hours:

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday-Saturday 10am - 5pm
  • Sunday Closed

Find us at:

41 Friar Gate, Derby DE1 1DA
01332 641901
Plan your visitto Pickford's House

Sally Hawley

Collections & Logistics Co - ordinator

We took five to have a little chat with Sally to find out more about her and who she is, this is what we discovered…

  1. Many of the people that Joseph Wright painted chose to be depicted with an object that tells us something about them as a person. What object would you choose and why?
    My sewing machine. It was a present from my family and friends for my 30th birthday and whilst I still have a long way to go before I would win any awards, I love the satisfaction I get from making a piece of clothing or a homemade gift from start to finish.
  2. If you could be any animal from the Nature Gallery, which would you be and why?
    As we don’t have my first choice of a unicorn, I would love to be the Himalayan monal pheasant because it is so beautifully coloured. I love birds and have always wondered what it would be like to be able fly as naturally as I walk around. I am afraid of heights though so I would probably be a rubbish bird!
  3. What makes you happy?
    Being in nature especially walking through woodland in spring or autumn, or being by the sea. My ultimate goal is to retire and live in a cottage by the sea where I could watch the sunset each day with a cuppa. Or sleeping in my bed. It’s easily the most expensive thing I ever bought but it’s so worth it!
  4. What do you love to do in your spare time? (Aside from working at the museum, obviously)
    I love to… spend a Sunday in Darley Park with my family; play pooh sticks with my nephews; visit my Mamar for a sing song; meditate; run or exercise with my personal trainer Saima (really!); watch Derby County play with my Dad; dance; spend an afternoon on the sofa with a good book or pootle around exploring a new place with my other half. Oh and I love a good pint of real ale in a sunny beer garden.

Specialisms

Contact Sally

Who made this website?