Derby Museums’ three sites (the Museum & Art Gallery, Pickford’s House and the Silk Mill) are temporarily closed until further notice. Please visit our website and social media channels for updates. Please email with enquiries. We look forward to welcoming you back when it is safe for us to do so.
Museum and Art Gallery

Opening hours:

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday-Saturday 10am - 5pm
  • Sunday 12pm - 4pm

The Museum & Art Gallery is closed on Mondays.

Find us at:

The Strand, Derby DE1 1BS
01332 641901
Plan your visitto Museum and Art Gallery
Museum of Making

Opening hours:

  • Monday-Sunday Closed

The building is currently closed to the public.

Find us at:

Silk Mill Lane, Derby DE1 3AF
01332 641901
Plan your visitto Museum of Making
Pickford's House

Opening hours:

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday-Saturday 10am - 5pm
  • Sunday Closed

Pickford's House is closed on Sundays and Mondays.

Find us at:

41 Friar Gate, Derby DE1 1DA
01332 715181
Plan your visitto Pickford's House

Gemma Hopkins

Co - production Volunteer & Programme Co - ordinator

We took some time out to quiz Gemma and get to know her better, here is what we found out…

  1. Many of the people that Joseph Wright painted chose to be depicted with an object that tells us something about them as a person. What object would you choose and why?
    My colleagues will confirm that I’m rarely seen without some kind of blanket (or three), even at the height of summer.  For some reason, I’m always cold!  Maybe, for extra glamour, the artist could paint me with my woolly socks and hot water bottle. 
  2. If you could be any animal from the Nature Gallery, which would you be and why?
    I would be a Great Crested Grebe as they are graceful in water (I love to swim in pools, lakes, rivers and seas) but extremely clumsy on land (I fall over/walk into things daily and actually fell up the stairs on the way to the Nature Gallery to choose my animal). 
  3. What makes you happy?
    Sharing food with people I love. 
  4. What do you love to do in your spare time? (Aside from working at the museum, obviously) 
    I love to potter in my garden, swim, listen to podcasts and walk on Cannock Chase.
Who made this website?