Explore more...

MUSEUM AND ART GALLERY

Don't miss what’s coming up

Museum Interventions Friday 5th April - Friday 23rd May: All Day


New work by 8 second year students from the BA (Hons) Fine Art programme at the University of Derby is on display throughout the permanent collections at the Museum & Art Gallery.

Continue Reading

Hatched! Easter Holiday Egg Trail Saturday 12th April - Sunday 27th April: All Day


Take part in our egg-citing trail! Do you know which animals hatch out of eggs? Follow our trail and find out. Collect a trail from reception and when you have completed it, staff will award you a chocolate egg prize!

Continue Reading

Butterflies and Mini Beasts Friday 25th April: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm


Find out all about mini-beasts in our Natural History Gallery and make friends with our very own stick insects. Have a go at making your own mini beast to take home!

Continue Reading

PM Poets Tuesday 29th April: 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


Join the PM Poets group at their monthly meetings to discuss, share and create their poetry.

Continue Reading

Museum and Art Gallery

Tuesday – Sunday: 10am-5pm
Bank Holiday Mondays: 10am-5pm

Easter Opening Times

Monday 14 April- OPEN 10am-5pm
Tuesday 15 April- 10am-5pm
Wednesday 16 April- 10am-5pm
Thursday 17 April- 10am-5pm
Good Friday, 18 April- OPEN 10am-5pm
Saturday 19 April- 10am-5pm
Easter Sunday 20 April- OPEN 10am-5pm
Easter Monday 21 April- OPEN 10am-5pm

FREE ENTRY

In the heart of the city, Derby’s Museum and Art Gallery is home to a fascinating and diverse range of nationally (and internationally) important collections.

Museum and Art Gallery,
The Strand,
Derby, DE1 1BS

info@derbymuseums.org
01332 641901


In the heart of the city, Derby’s Museum and Art Gallery is home to a fascinating and diverse range of nationally (and internationally) important collections.

THE JEWEL OF THE COLLECTION IS UNDOUBTEDLY THE WORLD’S LARGEST PUBLIC GALLERY OF PAINTINGS BY JOSEPH WRIGHT, THE CELEBRATED 18TH CENTURY ARTIST FROM DERBY.

Read more about Derby Museum and Art Gallery

TRANSITIONAL SPACES

Transitional Spaces are the places that we are beginning to use to show our previously stored collections.

OTHER GALLERIES

Derby Museums have a collection that is wide ranging and varied. We hope that you find something to interest you.

MIDLAND RAILWAY STUDY CENTRE

The Mildand Railway Study Centre at the Silk Mill is the UK's largest pre-nationalisation railway archive.